News and Updates

​The PBA of New York State Law Enforcement Congratulates DEC Police Academy Graduates

Friday, September 02, 2016

Thirty-one environmental conservation officers and 17 forest rangers receive Basic School for Uniformed Officers diplomas.

The union representing New York state’s forest rangers and environmental conservation officers (ECOs) congratulated and welcomed 48 new graduates of the state’s Basic School for Uniformed Officers.

Seventeen forest rangers and 31 ECOs completed the 27-week training and received diplomas at 11 a.m. today at a formal ceremony at the Kallet Theater in Pulaski, Oswego County.

“We congratulate our 48 new members and welcome them to the police profession following their intense training,” said Pete Barry, PBA of NYS president. “They perform important work in protecting the environment, assisting people who enjoy New York’s outdoors and wildlands, and enforcing the state’s environmental conservation laws.”

In addition to forest rangers and ECOs, the PBA of NYS represents New York State University (SUNY) Police and the New York State Park Police.

The graduates underwent extensive training in a variety of law enforcement areas, including firearms, land and marine emergency vehicle operations, firefighting and criminal procedures and law.


Names and hometowns of the graduates are below. All are New York residents. List courtesy of the state Department of Environmental Conservation:


ECO Christopher J. Amato, Patchogue

ECO Kyle A. Bevis, Albany

ECO Ike G. Bobseine, Cattaraugus

ECO Justanna N. Bohling, Sauquoit

ECO Timothy J. Brown, Randolph

ECO Zachariah R. Brown, Lake Placid

ECO Melissa M. Burgess, East Berne

ECO Emma C. Carpenter, Farmingdale

ECO William J. Chomicki, Poughkeepsie

ECO Zachary R. Crain, Rensselaer

ECO Anthony M. Drahms, Savannah

ECO Charles F. Eyler III, Pleasant Valley

ECO Nathan E. Godson, Depew

ECO Mary B. Grose, Frankfort

ECO Brian M. Gustitus, Hicksville

ECO Michael J. Hameline, Rensselaer

ECO Katie L. Jakaub, Bliss

ECO Adam P. Johnson, Oswego

ECO Andrew P. Kostuk, Cortland

ECO Evan G. Laczi, Williamsville

ECO Jarrod W. Lomozik, Ithaca

ECO Christopher P. Macropoulos, Whitestone

ECO Evan J. McFee, Hemlock

ECO Maxwell P. Nicols, Middle Grove

ECO Spencer L. Noyes, Munnsville

ECO Lucas A. Palmateer, Athens

ECO John T. Rich, Horseheads

ECO Jason P. Smith, Lake George

ECO Benjamin P. Tabor, Saranac Lake

ECO Craig P. Tompkins, Beacon

ECO Jonathon P. Walraven, Cohoes



FR Yuko Ashida, Hopewell Junction

FR Adam J. Baldwin, Tupper Lake

FR Jared T. Booth, Morrisonville

FR Katherine M. Fox, West Nyack

FR John A. Franceschina, Fort Montgomery

FR Andrew S. Lewis, Wilmington

FR Dylan T. McCartney, Bainbridge

FR Melissa L. Milano, Newcomb

FR Peter F. Morehouse, North Creek

FR Hannah R. O’Connor, Lake Clear

FR Brandon S. Poulton, Newcomb

FR William F. Roberts, Groton

FR Zachary L. Robitaille, Depew

FR Matthew J. Savarie, Schroon Lake

FR Nathan J. Shea, Westernville

FR Nathan M. Sprague, Williamsville

FR Ryan P. Sullivan, Poland, NY