News and Updates

PBA of New York State Congratulates UAlbany PD Award and Recognition Recipients

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Inv. Ben Nagy is chosen the 2016 Lawrence Gaal Officer of the Year; 23 others recognized. The PBA of New State Law Enforcement officials congratulated members of University at Albany Police Department who received internal awards for service, including Inv. Ben Nagy, who was named the 2016 Lawrence Gaal Officer of the Year Award. Nagy was honored for his thoroughness, professionalism, team approach, and for his lead investigator role on many high-profile cases, including the CDTA bus incident last spring. The case involved false claims of racial harassment on a CDTA bus.

The other honorees are as follows:

SSA Joseph Gulley: The Robert Foster SSA of the Year for Professional Security Service Award recipient. Given to an officer who best personifies excellence in service to the community with honor and distinction.

Campus Public Safety Officer Olivia DiBella: The Clark Dix Award for Excellence in Communications Award recipient. Given to recognize those officers who meet high communications standards.

Distinguished Service Award (1): For their professionalism and expertise demonstrated throughout the investigation of racial taunting on a CDTA bus, as well as for their dedication to uncovering the facts under extreme circumstances.

Criminal Investigations Unit Members:

  • Inv. Benjamin Nagy
  • Inv. Timothy Brady
  • Inv. Jeremy Clapper
  • Insp. Paul Burlingame

Distinguished Service Award (2): Presented to a member who has distinguished themselves for an outstanding achievement through their actions while investigating an incident of a criminal nature. An August 2015 on-campus vehicle stop resulted in the arrest of two adults on multiple felony drug possession charges.

  • Police Officer Jeremy Eveleth
  • Police Officer Kurt Nolan

Exceptional Service Award: Pre Presented to members for an act of intelligent and valuable service demonstrating special faithfulness or perseverance, OR, highly creditable acts of service over a period of time.

T. Sgt. Steven Grassmann

Lt. Kevin Krosky

Chief’s Award

  • Sr. Program Analyst Michael Dzikowski – presented in recognition of Dzikowski’s work researching, trouble-shooting and recommending new body camera’s and software for use by the department.

Community Service Award: Given to those department members who demonstrate continuous devotion to community service or those who have implemented a specific idea which enhanced community and departmental relations.

Police Officer Brett McLaughlin

FBI LEEDA Trilogy Recipients: Presented to an individual who has successfully completed the FBI-LEEDA’s Supervisor Leadership Institute, Command Leadership Institute, and Executive Leadership Institute. Each of the three trainings are dynamic, intensive and challenging five-day program specifically designed to enhance law enforcement leadership.

Lt. Alan Lapage

Lt. Michael Mabee

Lt. Christopher Farina

Lt. Kevin Krosky

Lt. Christopher Prusak

Capt. William Yankowski

Specialized Unit Recognition: Evidence Tech Unit: Members of the Evidence Tech Unit are responsible for evidence collection at complex and serious crime scenes such as sexual assaults and burglaries, and their work is critical in ensuring that all materials of evidentiary value is collected so that it is admissible in court.

Officer Daniel Vandeyar:

Honor Guard Unit: Members of the Honor Guard Unit are responsible for representing the University Police and the University at Albany at ceremonial functions not just on campus, or in the capital district but statewide.

Police Officer Daniel Callahan

Police Officer Trevor LaGrave

Police Officer Hans Haugen

Police Officer Cameron Cox

The PBA of New York State is the exclusive bargaining agent for the New York State University (SUNY) Police, the New York State Environmental Conservation Police, the New York State Park Police, and the New York State Forest Rangers. Our members police and protect New York State’s public universities and colleges; state parks and historic sites; and they enforce state laws and protect our lands and forests and ensure environmental safety and quality throughout the state.